Lyin’ on the Couch Watching Oprah

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Back to School August 18, 2009

Filed under: sewing — stephres @ 9:02 pm
Tags: , , ,

Back to school outfits are tricky for us because we live in Florida and it is still extremely hot in August (but frigid in the classroom’s a/c) and they have P.E. every day, which limits the fanciness of the outfits. We have always managed to have fun though, and part of the fun is letting Megan pick the fabric. It is never what I would have chosen, which is great. She gets total freedom and usually picks what pattern she would like, too.

For kindergarten, she went with froggy fabric and we made a skort. I loved this skort pattern and made it quite a few times. It was challenging having to lengthen it to ensure it was appropriate for school, but very easy to put together.

I cut a frog out and stitched it to her t-shirt and covered the seams with ric rac. I wrote her name on it with a fabric pen the last minute. Megan had the same teacher as Jacob, so this was mostly for her new friends.

The next year, Jacob allowed me to make something for him. I was thrilled! He picked camo fabric for easy fit shorts. Oh well, at least it was something. I found a shirt from wal mart that matched. He wore it exactly one time, the first day of school:

Megan had big plans. I made her a twirl skort out of crayon fabric and appliqued a t-shirt. I can’t believe how much fabric it took, but she loved it!

I was ruffling forever! I am old school when I ruffle, I never could figure out the ruffle foot and never really liked the dental floss or sewing over elastic method. I am very OCD about my ruffles so I do them by hand to make sure they are perfectly even around the bottom. Thanks to Tom, it is is easier with upholstery thread in the bobbin, but it still takes forever for one twirl skirt and two twirl pant legs! It is so worth it to see the twirl though. I was pretty sad to see that it is way too short to wear this year, so off to Tessa it went. It is so nice to have a friend the same shape as Megan (tall and thin) exactly one year younger. Otherwise, I would sit and cry over the outfits that are too small!

The headband was super easy but I don’t make them much any more. They just do not stay on an active girl’s head. If she would just stand there and not move (or jump or play), it would be fine!

I also had run all over town looking for a cream colored shirt, which I thought would have matched better. Fortunately, someone on the disboutique thread convinced me black would look like a chalkboard so it would be fine, which it was. I was also distressed to find I ran out of all matching thread when I went to applique the letters on the shirt. A normal person would probably wait until the next day and go to the store, but after all that ruffling I was itching to be done. I used denim thread to applique around the letters. It really made it too thick and I probably should have waited, but I was happy to be finished!

Here they are together:

This year Jacob declined a custom made outfit so it was up to Megan. I had purchased a cute German pattern, the Katrin, and really wanted to make the wrap jumper. Unfortunately, the fabric Megan picked out is rather loud. It is bright yellow, with red apples and bees all over it. I tried to steer her over to the trendy owls in fall colors but she was not having it. I decided maybe a top would be better (and I wouldn’t have to worry about trying to lengthen it). So what size? I looked at her chest, bust and hips measurements, and they were all different sizes! I just closed my eyes and picked a size (not really, I just picked the one in the middle of the measurements) and went for it. The pattern came together quickly and easily. The hardest part making my own binding. That took forever and was not at all fun, but I really like the look so it was totally worth it.

I am trying to decide if it needs anything else. I think I have learned my lesson from headbands that end up lost or stuffed on the bottom of her backpack, but the urge is still there to accessorize. Also shoes! Black ballet flats would be perfect but won’t stay on her long narrow feet. I think we are going to head to the Skechers store today to see what we can find. They have to be cute, able for her to play in, and stay on her feet. And on sale wouldn’t be hurt either. Wish us luck!

Man, it *just* fits her; no growing allowed! It was easy and fun to make, so I am sure I will be doing this pattern again. I would love to do it in knits, if I could find some cute fabric. It also has adult sizes so I could make one for me. Not in bees and apples though! 

This school year scares me a little bit. Will I be able to keep up with my duties of PTA President and my hobbies and blog? I hope so!

 

8 Responses to “Back to School”

  1. Marlo Says:

    So cute! I love the new outfit! I remember last yrs for both kids! My how they have grown!

  2. Kelli Says:

    I LOVE the apples and bees fabric!! Very Megan…very busy! Plus you can do a couple of different legging colors with that fabric…yay multiple looks!! Megan looks SO grown up!!!

    how is y’alls weather? I wish we were going to Disney this August. *sniffle* Oh well…business buyout madness comes first.

    quack

    you are so talented my friend!!! Can’t wait to see more!!!

  3. ...t. Says:

    I LOVE the Katrin top!! It is so cute and I think the fabric is great. GOOD JOB MEGAN!!! It is hard for BTS in FL. the stores start putting out such cute fall things (b/c clearly their buyers live in Canada where it’s already fall in Aug.) and it’s just not cool enough for a few more months. I really wanted to make Lily ruffled jeans to go w/ her first day of school outfit but realized she’d be miserable when they go to the playground. 😦

    Lovely outfits yet again Steph.

  4. Cathy P Says:

    Wow…great job with that cute wrap top! I love it! Both kids look so cute and I can’t believe how much they grow from year to year. We always take pics the first day or so of school and keep them on the fridge all year. It is amazing how different (and taller) they become!!!

  5. Heather Says:

    Tessa is wearing that abc outfit today! I am going to have to take a picture for you. I love seeing their first day of school outfits through the years!

    The wrap top is adorable! I love the way it fits Megan. It’s perfect!

  6. stephres Says:

    It is hot hot hot here Kelli! And rainy, rains every day, much to the dismay of my little soccer player. I don’t know why they have practice in August, they have to cancel them most of the time anyway.

    I hope Tessa doesn’t like this one because I think it needs to go straight to Lily, it is pretty snug. I know for next time though! Yeah, no ruffled jeans until at least October T!

  7. Mom Says:

    Love the chronology of first days of school. Can’t believe Jacob wore that outfit only once. It looks quite macho. How can I get that wrap top pattern?

  8. ...t. Says:

    Woo Hoo!!! Handme downs for Lily!! LOL


Leave a Reply

