Lyin’ on the Couch Watching Oprah

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Organizing! July 9, 2009

Filed under: sewing — stephres @ 9:00 am
Tags: , ,

I hate to organize! It seems like a job that is never done. As soon as I’m done with one kid’s room, there is the other kid’s, and the linen closet and WHAT THE HECK IS GOING ON IN MY CLOSET? I cannot even walk into my walk-in closet. It looks like one of those hoarder’s houses on the makeover show where the homeowner just blinks and states she doesn’t know how it got so bad, it’s just thirty years of clutter. But you have three artificial Christmas trees because you can’t find yours so you buy another. And another. That is what my closet looks like; there could be three Christmas trees in there and I would never know. Don’t believe me?

So I am ready to organize this fabric that seems to be engulfing my closet. Let’s be serious though, there is a serious amount of non-fabric clutter in there. So 6 garbage bags later I *think* there is enough room for the fabric and my clothes to peacefully coexist. I start my organizing with a trip to the comic book store. I buy 100 comic book boards for $10 and two comic books for my reluctant helper and we are off.

I fold the fabric longways and the wrap around the board.

I made a little triangle with the end of the fabric.

And tape closed.

Repeat 100 times and find that another trip to the comic book store is required. So I got smart and bought 200 comic book boards (and one comic book for the reluctant helper) and I finish the rest of the fabric.

What to do with the scraps? I treat them like my paper scraps and sort by color and file in a gallon ziploc bag.

So here are the final pictures. I really would have preferred a tv team come in and done all this but I am glad I took the three days it took to get all neat and tidy. This is the corner where my fabric was tenuously piled in a mound spilling all over my shoes:

And this is my fabric on shelves, all pretty!

In this bin is the flannel and knit fabric. It is just the right size for those boards, so if you are working with bins the boards work great!

And this is the bottom of the shelves, featuring clothes I bought Megan on sale that are too big (hopefully now I will remember to give them to her when they fit) and my store bought patterns. My youcanmakethis.com patterns are closer to my sewing machine because they are the ones I actually use! Oh, and there is a little pony which was a duplicate gift two birthdays ago that was lost in the clutter. Does anyone want a little pony?

Hope you enjoyed this little tour of my closet. I can tell you Tom did NOT appreciate seeing all the fabric laid out like that, so this is a project you might want to tackle when your husband (or in Tom’s case, wife) is out of town.  My reluctant helper said that it looks good but “too bad you won’t keep it looking that way.” Phooy, no faith!

Now I am waiting for the clean house team to come in and take care of my scrapbooking desk:

Help!

 

11 Responses to “Organizing!”

  1. Jessica Says:

    I had a good laugh! Thanks for that! Oh, i was laughing at your writing, not your closet. Sure can’t fault you there.

    Looks all nice and organized now. Were those shelves there or did you put them up just for the fabric? The fabric fits just perfect!!

  2. Mindy Says:

    Steph, it looks GREAT! Doesn’t it feel good to get a big project like that done? You should feel GREAT!

  3. Tammy Says:

    I love how you sorted scraps! I’ve become overwhelmed with scraps and just couldn’t figure out how to store them. Can’t wait to try gallon ziptop bags!

  4. Cathy P Says:

    Wow, Steph what a great job you did…look how nicely everything fits! I hate to tell you that I LOVE organizing! Don’t you feel so much better once you’re done…oh and I will be right over to assist with the scrapbooking table.

  5. Jeanne Says:

    Steph, it does my heart good to see someone besides me has a little clutter. Or used to anyway. It looks great! And my scrapbooking area looks like yours too…except mine has some fabric piled on top…

    • Bernadette Says:

      Steph, if I lived closer I would love to organize your scrapbook desk! I love doing that kind of stuff. Let’s be honest though I don’t like doing it in my own house. It took me two days to clean my closet and I only have clothes an shoes. Great job and loved the pics.

  6. stephres Says:

    Thanks for laughing with me Jess, not at me! The shelves were there; I just had to clean everything off of them and put poster board on the bottom so the fabric wouldn’t fall through.

    Bernadette, I wish I had someone to organize me!

  7. Amy Says:

    Ditto Jeanne – LOL! My scrapbook and sewing mess is all intertwined most of the time. Your closet looks great – those shelves worked out perfectly. I think it will be easy to keep it organized now too.

  8. Adi Says:

    We are still in the process of moving in and finally bought some comic book boards, so I did a google search for “organizing fabric comic book boards” and this was the second link. I was thinking, “Hey! I know her” – thanks disbou buddy 🙂 Hopefully I’ll have a success story to share soon!

  9. stephres Says:

    Cool Adi, can’t wait to see it!


Leave a Reply

