Lyin’ on the Couch Watching Oprah

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Father/Daughter Dance February 7, 2009

Filed under: sewing — stephres @ 8:09 am
Tags: , , ,

img_1125

Now that I am sewing, every special event is an occasion for a new outfit. The Father/Daughter Dance at school is no exception and Megan had fun picking out what she wanted. I had a costume pattern, but changed it a little so I could make the top from Carla’s peasant top pattern. Really, there is no reason to make a commercial pattern with bias tape when hers is much simpler and faster. It came together pretty quickly and Megan was very pleased with it. We were going to do blue gingam, but she had these black boots so I talked her into red and black. Plus, I really like her in red!

I do have to say with the amount I spent on fabric, lacing, fringe, eyelets and interfacing; it would have been cheaper to buy a costume. But it wouldn’t have been hand-made with love, right? And it definitely would not have fit properly, which I am proud to say, this outfit does.

She does not like the hat, however, so I am sure she did not wear it after the pictures were over. And she wanted make-up, so I gave her a little blush and freckles with my eyeliner pencil and of course, lipstick. I am sure they had a great time, I can’t wait until the get home to hear all about it!

Aren’t they cute?

img_1124

img_1127

 

5 Responses to “Father/Daughter Dance”

  1. Teresa Says:

    Yep, she sure is cute!!! I really like the way that dress turned out!!! So, how did the dance go?

  2. stephres Says:

    Tom had lots of complaints about the lack of organization but I told him to zip it unless he wanted to be on the committee for next year! Megan had a great time, of course!

  3. Heather Says:

    I just love that little dress! I like the black/red combo. I want to know where Tom’s cowboy hat and boots are??

  4. stephres Says:

    He told me the day of the dance I could get some for him if I wanted. A little more notice please!

  5. Jennifer Says:

    wow how wonderful is she!!! Stephres thanks for testing our tunic we couldn’t have done it without you!!


Leave a Reply

