Lyin’ on the Couch Watching Oprah

Just another WordPress.com weblog

How to Make Strawberry Jam January 30, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — stephres @ 5:43 am

Ok, besides sewing, my other big obsession is the food network. I have learned so much and tried so many different things I never would have watching the shows. Unfortunately, my adventurous spirit has not rubbed off on the kids. So if you have picky eaters, do NOT tell them you made this jam. Let them think it is store-bought until they try and love it. I made that mistake and had to bribe Megan to try it.

This is taken from an Ina Garten recipe found HERE, but I changed it a little to work for me.

Take one pint of rinsed strawberries and halve them and throw them into the food processor. This step is optional and I do it because my picky kids don’t like “chunky” jam. If you don’t mind pieces of fruit in it, just cut up the strawberries.

img_10921

Pulse until smooth.

img_1093

Throw in a pot with a tablespoon of orange juice and a half cup of sugar. Warm it up until the sugar dissolves.

Dice about 1/3 of an apple and throw it in. Have the rest for a snack.

Continue to simmer until it reaches some 220 degrees. Oh wait, I don’t have a candy thermometer so I don’t really know. I just let it simmer for about 20 to 30 minutes, depending on whether or not I’ve forgotten about it or not. You will want to occasionally skim off some of the pink stuff floating around the edges.

img_1096

Take off and put in a container to cool. One pint of strawberries will make you about this much jam, plenty for pb&j sandwiches for a couple of weeks. It is also delicious on toast.

img_1100

I promise you, once you try it, you will never buy jelly from the store again. Besides tasting so much better, it doesn’t have all the preservatives and corn syrup in it. Please let me know if you try it!

 

ps thanks to everyone who has given me encouragement on starting this blog. I really appreciate it!

 

8 Responses to “How to Make Strawberry Jam”

  1. Kelli Says:

    Steph that looks FABULOUS!!! I am SO trying this jam…or is it jelly? I guess it’s jam b/c it doesn’t have pectin in it right?

    anyhow…the Irish girl in me has a bit of an obsession for jam on toast…with a big mug of tea to go with it!! wooHOO!!

    Okay so officially Jay and I are going to Disney June 13-20…are the crowds atrocious then? I’ve only been to Disney in August!

    your blog is rockin so far!!!

  2. stephres Says:

    Yes, it is not jelly-like in texture but oh, so good! Especially on toast!

    We don’t go in the summer (crowd snobs) but I think it is comparable to August, just not quite as oppressively hot.

    Thanks, you’re the only one reading it, but that’s ok!

  3. Tifani Says:

    Hey Steph! That’s a great idea. We’ve been trying to make a lot more of this type of stuff at home lately. We like to give the kids jelly that is only sweetened w/ fruit juice, so I’ll have to see if I can figure out a way to alter it a bit, I’ll let you know how it goes.

    …t.

  4. jonstall24 Says:

    MMMMM yummy!!!! Thank for the recipe Steph!

  5. Teresajoy Says:

    My Mom use to make freezer jam like this! It was soooo good!!! I need to try this. Of course, I’ll have to wait for some fresh strawberries!

  6. Heather Says:

    MMMM…..I want some!!!!! Does it turn out okay if you use strawberries that aren’t real sweet?

  7. stephres Says:

    I don’t see why not, maybe just add a little more sugar?

  8. Bernadete Says:

    This is great! I am always looking for ways to replace what I buy at the store an especially since I have chosen a vegetarian lifestyle, I like knowing what goes into my food. Thanks for sharing.


Leave a Reply

