Lyin’ on the Couch Watching Oprah

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Swing Top Revision April 14, 2010

Filed under: sewing — stephres @ 4:17 am
Tags: , , , ,

I love the Emma swing top, but I have always thought I would love it a bit more without the open back. So I fiddled around this weekend when I had some time and this is what I came up with:

It was not that hard so you can do it too, I promise!

Material needed: Emma Swing Top Pattern (available from youcanmakethis.com) and fabric amounts instructed in pattern, 3/4 inch elastic

The first step is to cut out the pattern pieces. Cut out the front and lining, band, ruffles, straps and front contrast and front contrast lining as normal. For the back, measure your munchkin from armpit to armpit to get a back measurement (or measure all around and then divide by 2). Now take your back measurement and multiply by 1 1/2. Take your back piece and extend it. Megan’s back is 12 inches so I multiplied by 1 1/2 and got 18. So I extended the back piece so the top would be 9 inches (remember you are cutting on a fold).

 

Now cut out a back contrast piece and back contrast lining piece that same length as your back piece. The width should be the same as your front contrast pieces. I cut out the back contrast piece 1 3/4 x 9 inches and the back contrast lining piece 2 x 9 inches.

Now put the top together by the directions. You will have to fiddle around to decide where the straps go in the back, I put them in 4 1/2 inches from the sides because that looked about right. You want them more in the middle than on the side. When you attach the contrast piece to the top, make a gap in the sewing at each side. Decide how long you want the back elastic. I made mine 8 inches. Insert the elastic with a safety-pin and attach at each seam. Sew your gaps closed in the contrast and you are done!

Hope this helped! This is a cute little summer top that is very versatile so I hope I made it little more modest.

 

8 Responses to “Swing Top Revision”

  1. Teresa Says:

    Thanks Stephanie! I added this to the bookmarks too.

  2. Jeanne Says:

    Thanks Steph! I really needed this! You are the best tutuorializer out there!

  3. Stacey Says:

    Great work, Steph. You are so crafty.

  4. Stacey Says:

    Am I the only one who thinks the “quilt block” avatars are so cute?

  5. Mom Says:

    Good job! It looks really cute. I bought a dress pattern for Megan from “Sew Blessed” in Hahira. It has a semi-open back. I hope you and she like it OK. If you want to take a look at what they have, “Sew Blessed” has a web site.

  6. Mindy Says:

    Steph, you are soooo smart!!! Thanks so much for this!!!

  7. HeatherSue Says:

    This is a great tutorial! I don’t have this pattern, but it makes me want to buy it now that I see I can pretty easily make the back closed! So cute!

    Thank you, Stephanie!

  8. ...t. Says:

    This is so cute. I mean, I saw it when you originally posted it but I was just looking again. I love the way it gathers a little in the back.


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.