Lyin’ on the Couch Watching Oprah

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Lanyards! March 30, 2010

Filed under: sewing — stephres @ 5:02 am
Tags: , ,

Ha ha, in my last blog post I said I would update in December. I really haven’t had time to sew much so there wasn’t much to update. I did make Megan and me some matching pajama pants, thanks to Carla’s easy fit pants pattern for grown-ups. Carla must have known that I was not getting much cooperation from the middle-school bound boy so at least I can make myself something!

I was noticing some of the teachers had on Vera Bradley quilty-like fabric lanyards so of course I thought, hey, I can do that! I couldn’t find a lot of instructions on how so I figured it out myself. I made one for myself and a couple of parents put in orders. At our school, if you are a regular volunteer you get a badge with your id in it and most parents wear them on a boring blue lanyard the school provides. Now they don’t have to! All you need is a narrow strip of fabric, interfacing, matching thread and a clasp of your choice. It’s easy and quick too! 

The first step involves some math. It is not much and it is pretty easy. Decide how wide you want your lanyard. I have to be difficult and decide an inch is too wide and a half an inch is too narrow. So I pick 5/8 of an inch. Take this number and multiply by 4 (or double it twice). For the length, just decide how long you would like it. I measured the lanyard they gave us at school and got 36 inches. So I cut one strip of fabric 2 1/2 inches wide by 36 inches long.

Cut one strip of interfacing half that width, so I cut a strip 18 inches long by 1 1/4 inches wide. Iron it on straight down the middle of your fabric strip.

Fold and iron the raw edges inward so that they meet in the middle.

Now fold it in half and iron, lining up the edges.

Now unfold and line up the edges, right size together. You can pin if you like, but you certainly don’t have to! If you have chosen a clasp that you cannot attach after the fabric is looped, run it though now. I am using a ring like you put keys on so I can do it afterward.

 Sew and iron the seams open. Now refold everything and iron again. You will get to know your iron during this project, if nothing else!

Now sew down both long sides.

Attach your ring if you haven’t already.

I like to sew a little “x” down by the end where the key ring and clasp will be. It keeps the ring from running up and down the lanyard. It is probably not necessary but I think it looks neat. I sew across the bottom (don’t forget to backstitch!) then up diagonally, across and then back down. Easy peasy!

Isn’t this a cute little project? They would make great teacher gifts too. Just be careful that your pattern isn’t too big for the narrow lanyard.

Ok, I am off to Michigan for a week! Hope everyone has a great spring break!

 

9 Responses to “Lanyards!”

  1. Cathy Says:

    I love the lanyards!!! Thanks so much for the great tutorial! I really gotta make some of those!!

  2. Wow! that is awesome! and step by step instuctions. Lanyards are the “new accessory”

  3. Teresa Says:

    These are so cute Steph!!!

  4. ...t. Says:

    As soon as Graduation is over I will start working the backstage pass lanyards…you know it takes me forever to get something done LOL.

  5. IGK Says:

    Hi, I am trying to follow your instructions but the 18 inches is too short for my neck? I’m wondering if I missed a step. I cut the fabric without reading the rest and now I’m just wondering what to do now :-) Thanks!

  6. stephres Says:

    Er, 18 x 2, sorry! Will fix right away!

  7. Gwen Says:

    Great tutorial! I linked to it on my site:

    http://www.gwynhug.com/Scientific_Lanyard_Calculator/

    I hope you’ll check it out and see what you think. :)

    Thanks,
    Gwen

  8. DarWeeny Says:

    I know this is an old post, but I just made a few of these lanyards and I’m so happy with them! Great instructions :) My friends are so impressed! I even made some shorter ones (about 5″ long) to put on key chains as wristlets. I’m so excited to have my own customized lanyards for Dragon*Con! Thanks!


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.